« Back to May 2019 Newsletter

Local Students Receive Walton Trust Scholarship

Students from across Walton EMC’s 10-county service area are the beneficiaries of 2019 Walton Electric Trust Scholarships.

Over 250 students applied for the scholarship that helps fund post-secondary education at a college or vo-tech school. Applicants were evaluated on work ethic, triumph over obstacles, community service and extracurricular activities. The scholarship committee also reviewed recommendations from teachers and other adults involved in the students’ lives.

Of those, 32 students were selected to receive scholarships of $4,000. Another 28 were awarded runner-up scholarships of $1,000.

The Trust has awarded 579 scholarships since the program began in 2009. The scholarships are funded by unclaimed refunds to former Walton EMC customer-owners. After all efforts are exhausted to find the rightful owners, the money goes into an endowment provided for by Georgia law.

Students receiving 2019 Walton Trust Scholarship
Students from across Walton EMC’s 10-county service area receiving a Walton Trust Scholarship are, front row, left to right, Kaylah Brown, Brookwood High; Madison Hicks, Westminster Christian; Kennedy Henderson, Walnut Grove High; Emma Story, Walnut Grove High; Abigail Herbert, Loganville High; Emma Deal, Oconee County High; Brenna Hendrix, Archer High; Frances Redwine, Oconee County High; Anna Caroline Paschall, Oconee County High; Katie Thompson, Walnut Grove High; middle row, Chasity Rooks, Monroe Area High; Anna Whitford, Cedar Shoals High; Jessica Brogdon, Walnut Grove High; Kari Kohl Glen, Brookwood High; Grace Taylor, Loganville High; Hope Tasker, North Oconee High; Grace McCorkle, North Oconee High; Bryce Thomas, Parkview High; back row, Robert Anderson, North Oconee High; Keegan Gross, Archer High; David Kyle Pool, North Oconee High; Jacob Hilpp, North Oconee High; Patrick Brannen, Prince Avenue Christian;Ryan Franklin, Walnut Grove High; Jacob Smith, Loganville High; William Newberry, Monsignor Donovan Catholic High. Not pictured: Whitney McNair, Stephenson High; Yasmina Al-Aboudy, Shiloh High; Thi Dao, Brookwood High; William Olson, Monroe Area High; Miriam Morris, homeschool; Bailey Echols, Loganville Christian.